STORE   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Become Member
2014 RRS Award Winners
Share |

May 1, 2014
Late Breaking Abstract Submission Opens

May 23, 2014
Officer Nominations Close

May 27, 2014
Invited Speaker Abstract Submission Deadline

June 17, 2014
Early registration rate ends

July 25, 2014
Advanced registration rate ends

September 19, 2014
Late registration rate ends

September 20, 2014
Onsite registration rate begins
Know someone who should be recognized? Recommend your colleagues!
The Jack Fowler Award is provided by the University of Wisconsin to honor the achievements of Professor Jack Fowler. The award recognizes an outstanding junior investigator for exceptional work in radiation oncology, medical physics, and/or radiobiology.   A candidate must be an outstanding junior investigator who has performed exceptional work in radiation oncology, medical physics, and/or radiobiology.

Nominations for the Jack Fowler Award must include the candidate's curriculum vitae, a nomination letter, and no more than two supporting letters. Please send to or mail to 380 Ice Center Lane, Suite C, Bozeman, MT 59718. 

Members Resource Directory


Executive Director 

Veronica Haynes 


Member Services

Carrie Kovash 

Audrey Rinehart

Journal Office
Judy Fye, Managing Editor 


Please add the above emails to your safe sender list   

Radiation Research Society

380 Ice Center Lane, Suite A

Bozeman, MT 59718   


Toll free 



Tuesday, May 13, 2014
RRS Members:
It is with great pleasure that I am able to announce the 2014 RRS Award winners. Through nominations and peer review, the below recipients of the Failla Award and Michael Fry Award have been chosen to be honored at the 2014 RRS Annual Meeting at Red Rock Resort in Las Vegas, NV September 21-24, 2014.

Nominations are still open for the Jack Fowler Award and the recipient of the 2014 Radiation Research Editor's Award will be announced soon.

The 2014 Planning Committee is putting together an excellent scientific program for the annual meeting - definitely the event not-to-miss of 2014. If you haven't done so already, register for the annual meeting at now at the early registration rate, which ends June 15, 2014. We look forward to seeing you in Las Vegas.


Francis A. Cucinotta
RRS President

The Failla Award was established in 1962-1963 to honor the late Gioacchino Failla, one of the founding fathers of the Radiation Research Society and its second president. The award is given annually to an outstanding member of the radiation research community in recognition of a history of significant contributions to radiation research. Each year the RRS President presents the awardee with an engraved medallion and cash award. The membership of the Awards and Honors Committee ensures that all disciplines in the Society are given representation for this award. 

Professor Peter O'Neill
is Head of the DNA Damage Group and Deputy Director of the Oxford Institute of Radiation Oncology at the University of Oxford following his move in 2007 from the MRC Radiation and Genome Stability Unit, Harwell (1983-2007), where he held several senior positions. 


Professor O'Neill is also a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry. He is Course Director of the MSc course on Radiation Biology at the Institute and a Fellow at St Cross College, Oxford... READ FULL BIO

The intent is to recognize an individual early in his/her career, but not defined by any specific age. In keeping with the intent of the award, early in career is typically considered to be within 10 years of completion of training (e.g., post-doc, residency, fellowship). A candidate is not required to be a member of the Society, but the work upon which the nomination is based must be in one or more of the areas of radiation research. Candidates who are unsuccessful in any given year may be re-nominated in a subsequent year if they continue to meet the above criteria.

Dr. David S. Yu is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Radiation Oncology at Emory University School of Medicine. He received his MD from the University of Texas at Southwestern Medical School and PhD from the University of Cambridge prior to completing residency training in Radiation Oncology at Vanderbilt University Medical Center. He graduated with honors from Stanford University with a BS in Biology.

Dr. Yu is actively engaged in both clinical and basic science research. He is interested in understanding how cells respond to replication stress and how we can utilize this knowledge for improvements in cancer diagnosis and treatment.... READ FULL BIO
ASTRO and the National Cancer Institute (NCI) are co-sponsoring a one-day consensus meeting for radiation oncology biologists, physicists and physician leaders focused on the future of radiobiology and its evolving role in radiation oncology research. This invitation-only one-day event will take place July 18, 2014, at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Campus in Bethesda, Md. REQUEST AN INVITATION


380 Ice Center Lane, Suite C | Bozeman, MT 59718
1.877.216.1919  |  |
Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal